Jim Shooter - Comiccon de Montréal

Featured guest

Jim Shooter

Superboy
The Legion of Super-Heroes
Superman

Schedule

Saturday - Sunday 2 days

Biography

Jim Shooter did his first professional comics work at the age of thirteen, selling a Legion of Super-Heroes story (Adventure Comics#346) to DC Comics and going on to write Superboy, The Legion of Super-Heroes, Superman and other titles. He moved to Marvel Comics shortly after, revitalizing the line with several titles at their commercial and critical best, with his best-remembered work being the Korvac Saga on Avengers.

By 1978, he accepted the position of Editor in Chief of Marvel Comics under the condition that he would be allowed to improve things for Marvel’s creators. Shooter introduced royalties and a spectrum of other incentives, rights and benefits, attracting a Who’s Who of talent. He became the driving force behind many of Marvel’s most memorable stories, including creating the first company-wide crossover ever to happen in American comics, with the MarvelSuper Heroes Secret Warsin 1984, which was created mainly to promote a new line of Marvel toys in association with Mattel.

In 1989, he founded Valiant Comics, and introduced many co-creations including Archer and Armstrong, Rai, H.A.R.D. Corps, Shadowman, X-O ManowarandHarbinger, as well as serving to re-introduce classic comics characters like Magnus, Robot Fighter and Turok, Dinosaur Hunter. He would later found Defiant Comics in 1993 and Broadway Comics in 1995.

Today, Jim Shooter is the Editor in Chief of Illustrated Media, a custom comics company.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Jim Shooter - Comiccon de Montréal

En vedette

Jim Shooter

Superboy
The Legion of Super-Heroes
Superman

Horaire

Ven - sam - dim 3 jours

Biographie

Jim Shooter a débuté sa carrière dans l’univers des comic booksdès l’âge de treize ans, en vendant une histoire de la Légion des Super-Héros (Adventure Comics#346) à DC Comics. Il a également écrit des textes pour des titres tels que Superboy, The Legion of Super-Heroes, Superman et bien d’autres. Très tôt, il s’est dirigé vers la compagnie Marvel Comics, où il a su revitaliser l’image de la marque grâce à de nombreux titres reconnus tant au niveau commercial que par la critique, dont sa contribution mémorable pour le personnage de Kovac Saga dans les Avengers.
 
En 1978, il accepte le poste de rédacteur en chef chez Marvel Comics sous la condition d’avoir la chance d’améliorer la situation des créateurs de Marvel. Shooter introduit d’ailleurs le concept des redevances ainsi qu’une gamme d’avantages, de droits et de prestations, qui somme toute attireront les plus grands talents de l’époque. Il deviendra la force derrière les histoires les plus marquantes de Marvel, notamment avec la toute première collaboration de la compagnie entière (une première fois dans l’histoire des comicsaméricains) avec la série Super Heroes Secret Warsde Marvel en 1984, créée afin de promouvoir la nouvelle gamme de jouets Marvel réalisée en association avec Mattel.
 
En 1989, il a fondé Valiant Comics pour laquelle il a introduit de nombreuses co-créations, dont Archer and Armstrong, Rai, H.A.R.D. Corps, Shadowman, X-O ManowaretHarbinger. Cette compagnie a également servi à réintroduire des personnages de comicsclassiques comme Magnus, Robot Fighter et Turok, Dinosaur Hunter. Par la suite, il a fondé Defiant Comics en 1993 et Broadway Comics en 1995.
 
À ce jour, Jim Shooter est le rédacteur en chef chez Illustrated Media, une compagnie de comic books conçus sur mesure.

Publicité

Publicité